mywordledigitalworldmtribe

(Image above created by myself on Wordle URL:http://www.wordle.net/create)

 

My view on  digital technologies and teaching has changed somewhat. I began with a less is more theory. However, as I continued to research the topic, I realized the importance that technology has on today’s generation of students. I now see that it is essential for students to be immersed in digital technology and be provided with continued opportunities that expose them to a variety of devices and applications, so that they can explore, create, experiment and apply their knowledge with purposeful activity (Howell, 2012, p. 91). To do this I would be attempting to integrate the use of digital technology in various subject areas to provide more opportunity for meaningful and purposeful engagement.

In completing this assessment, I experimented with various tools as I wanted to try something new, in order to extend on my own personal exposure and knowledge. I believe this is important as this will enhance the learning experiences that I am able to provide to my future students. I now hold a more comprehensive insight into why and how my own personal understandings of digital technology impacts the way I am able to teach and deliver lessons and experiences to my future students. As explained perfectly by MacManus, (2013, August, 2). We are effectively “training our young people for jobs that exist in a growing sector.” However, I still feel that it does remain a balancing act in order to keep a healthy amount of non screen time interacting without devices with time spent with technology. Both are important. I also agree with what core education (2016) express on their website, that we as teachers have now become co learners with students, as we keep ourselves updated with evolving technology and learn how to use it together in the classroom to support learning. In doing all of the above it is important to keep in mind that with all of this evolving technology comes the responsibility as teachers to teach students how to use technology safely and responsibly.

References

 

Core Education. (n.d). Trend 4: Digital convergence. Retrieved from: http://www.core-ed.org/thought-            leadership/ten-trends/ten-trends-2015/digital-convergence

 

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. South       Melbourne, VIC: Oxford University Press.

 

Mac Manus, S. (Friday 2 August 2013). Getting young people fluent in digital. The Guardian. Australian   Edition. Retrieved from: https://www.theguardian.com/social-enterprise-          network/2013/aug/02/young-people-fluent-digital

Leave a comment